Skip to content

☆ The metro ☆

10/03/2009
tags:

p1010933

The Métropolitain was inaugurated at the Exposition Universelle of 1900 and linked its major sites..

☆ The metro ☆

Designed by the engineer Fulgence Bienvenüe, it was Hector Guimard who designed the 84 Art nouveau entrances, two of which still exist at the Abbesses and Porte-Dauphine metro stations..

☆ The metro ☆

img_0446

White earthenware tiles and sculpted frames are the hallmark of the Parisian metro..

Over the years, the metro has accumulated works of art:

The entrance to the Palais Royal-Louvre metro stop on Place Colette was redesigned by Jean-Michel Othoniel, as the “Kiosque des noctambules” (Kiosk of the night-walkers), and completed in October 2000 for the centenary of the Metro..

☆ The metro ☆

Concorde metro station..  The entire “Declaration des Droits de l’Homme et du Citoyen” (the document setting forth the principles of the French Revolution) spelled out in 45,000 tiles..

☆ The metro ☆

A revolutionary fresco at Bastille..

1

The Nautilus submarine as seen by JulesVerne at Arts-et-Métiers..

1

The history of the 20th century in pictures at Tuileries..

Tuileries

And more…

6 Comentários leave one →
  1. 10/03/2009 13:24

    Tres bon! Love the photos (and the blog template)

  2. 10/03/2009 13:33

    This is a great blog Martinha.. & love your photographs!
    All the best,
    Ashton
    http://MiamiBeachRealEstateBlog.us

  3. 10/03/2009 14:32

    Hi, thank you so much for visiting. This is a great blog. I am curious how you found me? Please come back soon, any day now I hope to have my “blook” launched about my 30 days in Paris. Salut!

  4. 10/03/2009 16:51

    Thanks for visiting! These photos are great. I loved the metro after I figured it out. My metro stop closest to where i stayed was that fantastic jeweled number you show. Great blog! I will visit often!

  5. 10/03/2009 18:53

    Thanks for leaving me a comment🙂
    Love the photos.

  6. 10/03/2009 21:28

    Hi Martinha, I’m glad you enjoyed reading my blog. I can see you have Paris pretty much covered already, so I won’t have to go there. #8D)

    Good luck with your writing!

Deixe uma resposta

