☆ Place de la Concorde ☆
Work began on place Louis XV in 1755..
It broke with the tradition of enclosed royal squares, to open up the perspective to the Tuileries gardens..
The fine mansion houses – the Hôtel de la Marine and the Hôtel Crillon underlined the axis of the statue of the monarch – were demolished after thirty years..
Place de la Revolution is where Louis XVI, Marie-Antoinette, Danton and Robespierre were guillotined..
However, place de la Concorde spells reconciliation..
Louis- Philippe sought a monument that would cool revolutionary and royalist passions, which he found in the 3,300-year-old Obelisk, a gift from the pasha of Egypt..
Erected in 1836, its 23 metres and 230 tons of pink granite took four years to travel from Luxor!!
Two fountains, embellished with golden mermaids and fish, enliven the grey, green and golden decor of the square Jardin des Tuileries..
A wealth of works populate the terraces, the lawns and flowerbeds laid out in the French style, the copses and the areas around the ornamental ponds: an academic Spartacus on a marble pedestal and the contemporary Welcoming Hands, by Louise Bourgeois, plus classical allegories and Tinguely’s tricolor..
The green Maillol bronzes emerge from the labyrinth of hedges that connect the Tuileries to the Louvre..
At the other end, in a direct line with the great axis, the garden opens out spectacularly onto Concorde..
Lush greenery, games, refreshment chalets, and farniente lie between the two..1st. M° Concorde . .